So You Speak German, Then?

Why is it okay to be a nazi when grammar is involved?

“I really don’t care what the affect is, here.”
“Actually, it’s effect in this situation.”
“What?”
“You meant to say effect instead of affect. Sorry, I’m kind of a grammar nazi.”

I know I slept in history class, but I don’t recall the nazi’s walking up to folks and saying, “Um, I think you meant to say christian. Sorry, I’m kind of a nazi.” That didn’t happen. You’re not a grammar nazi; you’re a stickler for grammar at best, an ass at worst.

Also, isn’t it a massive slap in the face to all the people who really fought/were under captivity by actual nazi’s to just tag that word on to stuff? I know, Seinfeld had the Soup nazi episode, but you know what? You’re not Jerry f-ing Seinfeld. Make one of the best sitcoms of all-time, then you can throw around nazi.

Now, I’m not saying that people should just run around, saying words with little regard to their meaning. I’m saying the opposite of that. Nazi has a meaning, and you’re using it wrong.

Whaddya Think?

